September 6, 2022 - The New England Chapter of the Institute of Classical Architecture & Art (ICAA) announced the 14 winners of its Twelfth Bulfinch Awards. The Chapter invited entries from firms from New England as well as from around the country for work performed in New England region. Over 70 entries were submitted. The Jury consisted Janice Parker, James Strickland, and Duncan Stroik.

Hoerr Schaudt's New England Farm project was named this year's winner in the Landscape Architecture category. See the full list of winners here.


About the Project

Spanning sixty acres on the coast of Rhode Island, the clients of this New England farm were looking for a comprehensive landscape that would take their disjointed property and make it cohesive, regionally-specific, and most importantly, comfortable.

Lovers of both nature as well as New England tradition, the clients delighted in greenery, clean palettes, and sweeping views, and welcomed the prospect of these plant materials uniting the property’s various buildings and amenities, all of which seemed randomly scattered among the open fields.

The goal, as articulated by Doug Hoerr, was to enhance the beauty already present by creating a sense of progression, scale, and discovery. The design team performed a thorough edit of the property, consolidating the vast landscape into a connective structure with discreet surprises around every corner.

Read more here

20200713 hs
IMG 3389 TT
20150806 hs van beuren 818
20150806 hs van beuren 1032

About the Awards
The Bulfinch Awards are hosted by the Institute of Classical Architecture & Art New England Chapter (ICAA New England) and recognize practitioners from across the nation who are committed to promoting excellence in the classical tradition and allied arts within New England. All eligible projects work toward building upon the legacy of Boston's early Federal architect, Charles Bulfinch, who is widely regarded to be the first native-born American to work in the field professionally. Initiated in 2010 and modeled on the ICAA’s Arthur Ross Awards, the New England Bulfinch Awards program is an annual competition. The winners of the Bulfinch Awards will be recognized at a ceremonial reception and dinner gala in the Harvard Hall at the Harvard Club of Boston, designed by Parker, Thomas & Rice on Saturday, October 29 at 6 p.m.

About The Institute of Classical Architecture & Art
The Institute of Classical Architecture & Art is the leading nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing the classical tradition in architecture, urbanism and their allied arts. It does so through education, publication, and advocacy. The Institute is headquartered in New York City with regional chapters across the United States. It offers a wide array of programs that are designed to promote the appreciation and practice of classical and traditional design, including classes, travel, lectures, and conferences. It publishes an academic journal called the Classicist as well as the acclaimed book series called the Classical America Series in Art and Architecture.

To Top